Ian Kowalick

Non-Executive Chairman

Qualifications: BSc (Hons), BEc
Appointed: 19 December 2002

Ian Kowalick has qualifications in science, engineering, economics, and finance. Ian has worked in technical and project consulting, economic and business analysis for resource companies, banking, and investment. From 1995 to 2000, he held the most senior management position in the South Australian public sector, and is currently the Chairman of the South Australian Forestry Corporation Board. Ian is a board member of the Northern Territory Power and Water Corporation.

He is the Chairman of Arafura's Remuneration and Nomination Committee, and a Member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Gavin Lockyer

Managing Director 

Qualifications: BBus, ACA, FTA

Gavin graduated with a Bachelor of Business in Accounting and Finance in Western Australia in 1987 and has subsequently become a member of both the Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Finance & Treasury Association of Australia.

He joined Arafura in 2006 as Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary after having served as Financial Controller with the Tethyan Copper Company Limited. Gavin previously held several senior finance and treasury positions in global mining companies Newcrest and Newmont following a successful international investment banking career with Bankwest and ANZ in Australia, and Bankers Trust and Deutsche Bank in London.

Gavin’s diverse, global experience has provided management and leadership opportunities in a range of disciplines including; Accounting, Financial & Investment Banking, Major Resource Development & Operations, and Global Bank Treasuries. Over the past 20 years his career has exposed him to business practices in North America, Europe, and Australasia.

Chris Tonkin

Non-Executive Director 

Qualifications: BSc (Hons) Metallurgy and Chemistry, BA Economics and Politics, MBA
Appointed: 1 January 2011

Chris Tonkin has over 35 years’ experience as a senior business executive with a broad industry background in business generation, management, and strategy development. He began his career as a metallurgist and environmental specialist, diversifying into commercial roles at several major industrial companies and subsequently project finance, corporate and project advisory roles at AIDC, The Chase Manhattan Bank, KPMG Corporate Finance and ANZ, where he was Head of Natural Resources Project Finance for many years, leading a very successful team of project financiers.

In early 2012, Chris was appointed Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Arafura Resources Limited and assisted the company through a difficult period before stepping down to concentrate on his project advisory activities as Executive Director of Capital Advisory Services Pty Ltd and Managing Director of Catalyst Capital Solutions Pty Ltd.

Chris is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Member of the Finance and Treasury Association. He is a member of Arafura Resources’ Remuneration and Nomination and Audit and Risk Committees and is also Chairman of Lakes Oil NL.

Terry Grose

Non-Executive Director 

Qualifications: BEc, MBA
Appointed: 21 January 2013

Terry Grose has a strong commercial background gained over 30 years as a senior business executive, consultant, and director, in Australia and internationally.

He spent several years in merchant banking before joining Wesfarmers Limited in 1985 as its first Business Development Manager. During the ensuing decade, he held various senior management positions in Wesfarmers’ corporate office, its fertiliser & chemicals division and its coal mining division. For several years he was General Manager International Business Development.

Terry worked in Hong Kong for over a decade in a senior financial role before establishing his own business, Grose International, a commercial and financial consultancy with clients throughout Asia.

Since returning to Australia in 2008 he has worked as a consultant specialising in strategic planning and financial management and as a director of several companies. Terry is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is currently a director of Yirra Yaakin Aboriginal Corporation, Rolltrak Spares Pty Ltd and Central Desert Native Title Services Limited.

He is Chairman of Arafura’s Audit & Risk Committee and a member of the Remuneration & Nomination Committee.

Quansheng Zhang

Non-Executive Director 

Qualifications: Doctoral degree in Engineering and Masters degree in Geophysical Prospecting.
Appointed: 18 November 2016

Quangsheng Zhang holds a Doctoral degree in Engineering and a Masters degree in Geophysical Prospecting. 

Mr. Zhang is based in Nanjing in the Peoples Republic of China and is the General Manager of Hong Kong East China Non-Ferrous Mineral Resources Co Ltd (HKECE). Quangsheng has over 30 years of mineral prospecting and exploration experience, and expertise in mineral resource surveys and geophysics. 

Mark Southey

Mark Southey

Non-Executive Director 

Qualifications: BSc (Hons), MBA
Appointed: 30 January 2018

As the Nolans Neodymium‚ÄźPraseodymium (NdPr) Project rapidly advances towards a Final Investment Decision, Mr Southey has been appointed to the Arafura Board as Non-Executive Director. A vital position to bring a wealth of mining, project realisation and technical experience, to help guide this transition.

Mr Southey holds BSc (Hons) in Engineering with Business Studies from the University of Portsmouth, has an MBA from the University of Sydney Business School, and is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He has extensive global experience in the industrial and natural resources sectors covering all aspects of asset management, maintenance, design and engineering, and major capital project development and execution. He is well versed in public company board and institutional investor engagement and has a background in both senior operational and financial roles.

Mr Southey has previously held senior executive positions with Honeywell and ABB both in Australia and internationally, and more recently was part of the global executive leadership team within WorleyParsons, a leader in the engineering, procurement and construction of projects in the energy and resources sector where he held the position of Group Managing Director for the Minerals, Metals and Chemicals Sector.